Sick on a Sunday

Distant Relatives & Christmas Cards

Posted in Geography by jamiemarie on December 2, 2010

It’s that time of year again and I’m sending Christmas cards. This is one of the few opportunities I don’t feel uncomfortable reaching out to people I haven’t seen in a gajillion years, particularly my extended family. Everyone likes getting real, physical mail with a pleasant message.  And it’s a nice reminder that I still exist.

I emailed my mom for some of her siblings’ addresses.  Apparently her youngest brother has not only a physical address, but a PO Box as well. I was thrown off at first, but hell, they live in Tennessee.  I thought maybe it was just a rural area so they have to be very specific as to the location of the PO Box. So I google mapped it the city.

Trade, TN

rivers > roads

Basically, they live in a wishbone.  There are more rivers than roads! I wonder if my cousins have to take boats to school.  Or they have electricity.

Just to put things in perspective, here’s a map of my city, at equal zoom.

Redondo Beach, CA

ocean > land

Guess I’m gonna have to pay Uncle Rich a visit! I should probably bring an oil lamp and telegraph machine.

Leave a Reply

